Inspection Criteria

To ensure a consistent approach, and to make clear its expectations, the ICIBI works with 10 inspection criteria, which have been developed and refined over time and are kept under review for their relevance and utility.

The 10 criteria are grouped under three headings:

  • Operational Delivery
  • Safeguarding Individuals
  • Continuous Improvement

During the planning phase of each inspection, the ICIBI determines which of the criteria are relevant to that inspection. The published inspection report lists the criteria used.

In addition, where relevant the ICIBI may apply recognised criteria and standards developed and used by other bodies, an example of which is the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman’s Principles of Good Complaint Handling, which identified six key principles to help public bodies deliver first-class complaint handling to their customers.

The latest Inspection Criteria can be downloaded here. (revised and updated August 2013)

Share this:Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someone